Bali, hai

(Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

Ordinarily, due to the nature of this event, I wouldn’t mention it here – I mean, no point letting folks know about something they won’t be able to attend – but I am delighted to confirm that I will be speaking at the Nokia Asia Pacific CEO Summit 2007, 03-05 October at the Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan, Indonesia.

Needless to say, this is a very exciting event and I am honored to have been invited to share my perspective. We’re going to be exploring the unique risks and opportunities presented to mobile providers by the emergence of full-fledged everyware – especially, in line with the event’s theme of “Kampung 2.0,” as that everyware begins to leak out of the metropolis and into the daily life of the village. It’s an utterly fascinating topic, real Jan Chipchase stuff, and I can’t wait to get into the thick of it.

This is also going to be, my goodness gracious, something on the order of 72 hours in transit for a roughly equivalent interval on the ground – my longest flight EVAR, by more than a little. Damn good thing those many hours will be spent in the care of Singapore Airlines, which is reputed to be somewhat capable in this department.

6 responses to “Bali, hai

  1. Scott Boone says :

    If you are flying coach, check your plane type. There’s a big difference between the older 747’s and the newer Airbus models – several valuable inches of seat width.

    I recently flew to Singapore on Singapore Airlines (for State of Play V), and the flight from NY to Frankfurt and on to Singapore was almost unbearable in the old 747. The flight back to LAX on the Airbus was much more comfortable.

    Of course, you’re going to a CEO Summit; you’ll probably get one of those really big, fancy seats in first class that reclines flat. (You lucky dog!)

  2. Dave O'Flynn says :

    JFK -> NRT -> DPS (Denpasaar) is a shade under 23hrs. The resort is 1hr from the airport. Where on Earth are you travelling from that it’s going to take you 36hrs each way?

  3. speedbird says :

    Dave: I’m going through Changi, not Narita, and with a chunky layover. Scott, you’re correct: I won’t be worrying about the seats. ; . )

  4. Vidiot says :

    I’ve flown Sinagpore in one of the old Megatop 747s and was quite comfortable. (in economy!)

    And Adam — I’d love to see your map on FlightMemory….

  5. speedbird says :

    HAW. Remember those tests they did where they dosed spiders with acid? Like that.

    You on Dopplr?

  6. Vidiot says :

    Yup, tho at the moment I don’t have much planned. Sometimes I wish my life were more peripatetic — or that people paid me to travel more.

Leave a Reply

