Happiness is…

…an unexpected half-hour to shop at the notorious timesink called Jim Hanley’s Universe, where I picked up two volumes of Brian Wood’s DMZ, Jason Lutes‘s Berlin: City of Stones, the first ish of Tsutomu Nihei’s nihiltastic BLAME! (thanks, George!), and – calloo callay – the looooong-anticipated League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: Black Dossier. On its very day of release. Score!

You’d think that’s enough popkultur glee for one day. Nej.

Somebody namechecked Owen Hatherly in comments here yesterday – I confess I wasn’t familiar with the name, but that’s what Google’s for, right? Two clicks later and I’m happily kneedeep in the man’s reflections on Communist couture from Huey and Angela to Erich (Honecker, that is). Yes.

Bonus: I followed up – counter to his intentions, I am sure – on Owen’s dissection of Black Box Recorder, a band I’d previously not heard of and whose gorgeous chilly pop spaces I’ve now spent an hour binge-downloading. (Did you really think I’d be able to resist an act with songs named, e.g., “The English Motorway System” and “British Racing Green”?) Latent fascist tendencies be damned: hello, delicious.

4 responses to “Happiness is…”

  1. Andrew says :

    Ah yes, Black Box Recorder. Always preferred Luke Haines’ previous band The Auteurs more.

  2. Andrew says :

    Also, it seems to be Owen Hatherly’s day today.

  3. Dan Hill says :

    Owen’s brilliant.

    As is ‘City of Stones’. Hope you’re enjoying it. I wrote a short review a few years back – http://www.cityofsound.com/blog/2002/03/berlin_city_of_.html – but I’m yet to see any sign of the follow-up?

Leave a Reply

