…and days spent lazily punting on the Cam

Something I am very excited about: my friends at Microsoft Research Cambridge have invited me to spend some time with them next spring/summer, and I’m delighted to accept the offer.

I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to the prospect of “some inventing and making, some writing and publishing” – particularly if that prospect involves colleagues like Richard Harper and Abigail Sellen, with their superb knack for asking the right questions. (Richard and Abi co-authored the wonderful Myth of the Paperless Office, a volume I unreservedly recommend to you.)

I know what you’re thinking. Gotta tell you, though: in my experience, “Microsoft Research” and “Microsoft” are two entirely different orders of beast. Trust me, it’s not nearly as odd a juxtaposition as it might seem. ; . )

3 responses to “…and days spent lazily punting on the Cam”

  1. Ben Kraal says :

    The great shame is that the awesome work MS Research does is rarely translated into useful consumer-grade apps.

    On the upside, MS Research certainly believes in getting their research out into the public/academic sphere, something that can’t be said of another company whose name rhymes with “Snapple”.

    Congrats on the appointment/fellowship/opportunity. :)

  2. martian77 says :

    I can’t wait to see what you make of Cambridge! :-)

    I met one of the MS Research Cambridge team at the London Hopper Colloquium last year. I am quite jealous of your opportunity.

  3. speedbird says :

    The great shame is that the awesome work MS Research does is rarely translated into useful consumer-grade apps.

    Do you know, Ben, that’s almost why I’m so comfortable with the idea of working with the whipsmart folks at MSR: there’s virtually no chance of anyone laying the blame for the hamfistedness you mention at their doorstep.

Leave a Reply

