The mother of all interviews

Roughly once a month, every month for the last several years, I’ve sat down with one or another blogger, student, filmmaker, or journalist to conduct an interview on the subjects I think and write about here. I’m often amused, and always flattered, by the way these things turn out, and sometimes they even prove to be quite useful in terms of introducing figures or provoking lines of inquiry I hadn’t previously given much attention to.

I’m generally pretty ambivalent about pointing to these things here, though. On the one hand, a good conversation undeniably does draw out different emphases than a simple blog post. It can pose entirely new questions on my own part, lead to new ways of framing a situation, and even occasionally cause me to question the line I’ve hitherto adopted on a given topic. In this sense, such interviews aren’t even metacommentary: they’re a totally valid, maybe even an organic part of my thinking around something, and providing the links to you is only being thorough.

But I can also be a little reticent about doing so. Looky here: Magazine X interviewed me! It just strikes me as, I don’t know…unseemly?

In the case at hand, I have no such reticence. Tish Shute has just published what is perhaps the most extensive English-language interview with me that I can remember, and it’s chock-full of ideas about augmented reality, virtual worlds, Usman Haque’s Pachube project, the networked book, the networked city, and what to do at the end of the world.

I do warn you that it runs to some 12,500 words, and god knows that can be a lot of me to take in one sitting. Nevertheless I do think you’ll enjoy it. There’s, at the very least, a lot to argue with there. : . )

Many thanks to Tish for her patient, painstaking construction of this interview. Even if I sometimes got the sense that we were coming from some fundamentally different assumptions about things, her questions were never anything less than thought-provoking, and I had a great deal of fun trying to answer them. I hope you feel the same way about reading same.

2 responses to “The mother of all interviews”

  1. Stefan says :

    this interview, or your responses, should be included in the prologue of your next book since it introduces you in ways many people might never have understood.

    i knew you were against Facebook, but the way you described how you refuse to conform to the rules of engagement some company out of California predetermined is quite informative and comic.

    i had no clue you had lost all hope in humans as a species fixing the current fucked up situation known as planet earth.

    the fact that you do not care about technology, but more importantly concentrate on how people interact is definitely something that i had never even picked up on from the few brief meetings i’ve had with you.

    good stuff.

  2. AG says :

    Thanks, I guess.

    I’m just curious: how do you get from my explicit confession of hope in that interview to a conclusion that I’ve “lost all hope”?

Leave a Reply

