Malmöbound

I’m off today for Sweden to speak at this event, and I have to say I’m astonished that basically nobody’s registered for it on Facebook. I shall choose to interpret this as an indication that you-all Malmönoids aren’t heavy Facebook users, rather than concluding that I’ll be giving a talk to an audience of, well, Mark. : . )

Seriously, if you’re in the area, come on down tomorrow. I promise it’ll be worth the train trip from Copenhagen or Lund: the event is free, and the organizers have arranged a generous few hours to stretch out in, relax, do the full talk and have a real conversation. (With most of my Q&A’s over the past year pared down to the absolute minimum, this last in particular feels like a genuine luxury.) I look forward to seeing you there.

UPDATE a few days later: So we overflowed the room. So much for trying to estimate crowd size from who signs up on Facebook, I guess. : . )

Thanks to Bob Jacobson, to Pelle, Bo, Maria and Kathrine, and to everyone who came out on a drizzly night to hear me spiel, ‘specially those of you who crossed the Øresund to do so. It was a pleasure, and I’m sure I’ll find myself back in Skåne before all is said and done.

7 responses to “Malmöbound”

  1. Mark Jensen says :

    I’ve already signed up with a friend, so there’ll be two attendants for sure.

    Looking forward to the talk!

  2. Mayo says :

    I’m hoping that I and maybe a couple of others from CIID can make it across the water from CPH… 4pm on a midweek evening (out on a school night!) isn’t the easiest, though.

  3. AG says :

    Well, it would be lovely to see you. I’ll make your point to the organizers for future reference, as well.

  4. Niels Hjert Kristensen says :

    Malmö has social issues. But especially it is a well-governed town – run in a very top-down way.
    The Swedish way is consensus. Consensus is easier with few, large units collaborating such as in the Triple Helix programme municipality-private business-research institutions that Malmö engages in.
    The shift of paradigm towards true citizen involvement, decentralization and adaptiveness promises a great change that will empower the citizens and increase the social (and ecological) resilience.
    Also the proces will challenge the municipal administration’s capacity to reinvent its role. The latter point will be slowing down the proces considerably as the inevitable loss of power will be painful.

  5. richie says :

    Adam, don’t worry about the fact that not many people have signed up for the FB event. The two first MEDEA Talks have all had quite a big audience without having too many sign-ups on FB. Looking forward to see you this afternoon!

    /Richie – MEDEA

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. marks.dk - 10 November 2009
  2. marks.dk – Notes from Adam Greenfield’s talk at MEDEA, Malmö - 12 February 2010

Leave a Reply

